The Paimpont Abbey

Marque Bretagne

An architectural jewel IN THE MIDDLE of the forest

At first a simple priory founded in the seventh century, the abbey is now one of the most impressive religious buildings in the Brocéliande country…

Abbaye Paimpont @Emmanuel Berthier - 2000

A unique historical site in Brocéliande

Come and explore this site where power and faith once intertwined. In the seventh century, Saint Judicaël and Saint Méen initiated the construction of a priory dedicated to Notre Dame. Of this priory, nothing remains today. The construction of the buildings that can be admired today when walking around the lake began in the thirteenth century. Canons settled in the abbey and its influence grew: this is where justice was served and economic activities and trade fairs took place, the abbey ruled over Paimpont! But throughout the centuries, a lot has changed in the abbey…

An architectural journey through time

Built and enlarged over centuries, the abbey takes you on a journey through time! The rose window, the church portal, the wooden vaults… they all reflect the harmonious gothic style, typical of the thirteenth century. And what of the carved panelling, the transepts and the chancel, built in the most classical style? Prepare to be amazed!

Wood in the abbey

The greatest asset of the Brocéliande forest is without a doubt its trees, and the abbey testifies to that… From the abbeys timber work and statues to pulpits and altarpieces, wood is everywhere. Its presence shines a light on the abbeys past: from the twelfth to the eighteenth century, the Paimpont Abbot had the right to select from the forest all the wood necessary for the construction or decoration of the abbey… Dont be surprised when you enter the premises: from the chestnut timber work to carved oak panelling, wood is what makes the abbey so special…

The abbey’s treasure

Take the opportunity to come and admire the abbeys wonderful treasure… Dear to the heart of the inhabitants of Paimpont (the Paimpontais), it boasts many objects dating from as far back as the fifteenth all the way to the twentieth century. And the most admired object is without a doubt Saint Judicaëls reliquary. Some even say it contains his radius…

The nave and chancel of the abbatial church

Built in the thirteenth century in the gothic style, the nave is impressive with its tall stone walls, its vault in the shape of a reversed hull and its wooden carved pulpit. It was previously split into two parts: one reserved for the monks, the other for parish activities. Under one of the arcades, the statue of Notre-Dame-de-Paimpont: crafted from polychrome-painted wood in the fifteenth century, it used to be a pilgrimage site especially around the Pentecost. Walking through the church, you will reach the chancel and its magnificent high altar, topped with a canopy and a majestic crown. Stained-glass windows illustrating the life of Saint Judicaël adorn the chancel’s walls.

The transept

In the right transept, you will find the Retable du Rosaire. The central picture represents the Virgin Mary giving the rosary to Saint Dominic and Saint Catherine of Siena. The left transept harbours the Retable de Saint-Jean-Baptiste. The statue and central picture dating back to the nineteenth century represent Saint John the Baptist.

The Saints’ Statues

Saint Monica is the mother of Saint Augustine. A widow, she dedicated her life to her son and to leading him away from the wrong path he so seemed to enjoy. Her efforts were rewarded. Her life is mostly known through the Confessions of Saint Augustine. These two statues remind us that the church was occupied for six centuries by the Canons Regular of Saint Augustine.

The last two statues represent Saint Méen and Saint Judicaël. Méen was a Breton monk from Wales. He went to the kingdom of Dumnonia in the sixth century, which was then governed by Saint Judicaël. In Paimpont, Saint Judicaël built the Paimpont abbey while Saint Méen founded the Abbey of Saint Méen.

The Blessed Sacrament chapel and the Abbey's treasure

A small door in the left transept leads to the Blessed Sacrament chapel. Built in the seventeenth century, it is dedicated to contemplation and prayer. Once you reach the sacristy, you will be able to admire the main pieces of the Abbey’s treasure: an ivory Christ from the seventeenth century, a statue from the fifteenth century and a fifteenth-century reliquary said to hold a radius of Saint Judicaël himself….

A few pictures

The pond and abbey of Paimpont - Ille et Vilaine - Crédit : Emmanuel Berthier The abbey of Paimpont - Ille et Vilaine, France A date with the Moon - Paimpont Abbey The pond and abbey of Paimpont at dawn- Ille et Vilaine - Crédit : Emmanuel Berthier Pond of Paimpont Abbey, Broceliande, Bretagne, France

Also nearby

Our favourites

L’abbaye de Paimpont

Marque Bretagne

Un joyau architectural au cœur de la forêt

D’abord simple prieuré fondé au VIIe siècle, l’abbaye est aujourd’hui l’un des plus imposants bâtiments religieux du pays de Brocéliande…

Abbaye Paimpont @Emmanuel Berthier - 2000

Un lieu historique unique en Brocéliande

Venez découvrir un lieu où pouvoir et foi étaient maîtres. Au VIIe siècle, saint Judicaël et Saint Méen lancent la construction d’un prieuré dédié à Notre Dame. De celui-ci, il ne reste rien aujourd’hui. Au XIIIe siècle débute la construction des bâtiments que l’on peut toujours admirer en se promenant au bord de l’étang. Des chanoines s’y installent et l’abbaye rayonne en forêt de Brocéliande : justice, économie et foire, l’abbaye est seigneur de Paimpont ! Mais, au fil des siècles, celle-ci a bien changé…

Quand l’architecture fait voyager dans le temps…

A travers les époques de construction et d’agrandissement de l’abbaye, c’est un véritable bond dans le passé que vous propose l’abbaye ! La rosace, le portail de l’église, les voûtes en bois vous feront découvrir l’harmonieux style gothique, typique du XIIIe siècle. Et que dire des boiseries, des transepts et du chœur, construits dans le plus pur style classique !  Alors, préparez vous à être ébloui !

L’abbaye et le bois

Le richesse de la forêt de Brocéliande est sans nul doute ses arbres ! Et l’abbaye en est la preuve… Entre charpentes, statues, chaires ou retables, le bois est omniprésent. Sa présence témoigne du passé de l’abbaye : du XIIe au XVIIIe siècle, l’abbé de Paimpont avait le droit de prendre en forêt tout le bois nécessaire à la construction ou la décoration de l’abbaye… Ne soyez pas surpris quand vous y rentrerez : des charpentes en châtaigner aux boiseries sculptées en chêne, c’est le bois qui fait de l’abbaye un lieu unique…

Le trésor de l’abbaye

Profitez en pour venir admirer un magnifique trésor, celui de l’abbaye… Cher au cœur des paimpontais, il est constitué de nombreux objets datant du XVe au XXe siècle. Et l’objet le plus contemplé est sans nul doute le reliquaire de saint Judicaël. On dit même qu’y serait conservé son radius…

La nef et le choeur de l'abbatiale

Construite au XIIIe siècle dans le style gothique, la nef impressionne avec ses hauts murs de pierre, sa voûte en carène de bateau renversé et sa chaire en bois sculpté. Elle était auparavant divisée en deux parties : une réservée aux moines, l’autre aux fonctions paroissiales. Sous une de ses arcades se trouve la statue Notre-Dame-de-Paimpont. Réalisée en bois peint polychrome au XVe siècle, elle faisait l’objet de pèlerinages, notamment à la période de la pentecôte. En avançant dans l’église, vous vous rapprocherez du chœur, et de son magnifique maître-autel, surmonté d’un baldaquin et d’une couronne majestueuse. Des vitraux racontant l’histoire de Saint-Judicaël ornent les murs du chœur.

Le transept

Dans le bras droit du transept se trouve le Retable du Rosaire. Le tableau central représente la Vierge Marie donnant le rosaire à Saint Dominique et à sainte Catherine de Sienne. Le bras gauche du transept accueille le Retable de Saint-Jean-Baptiste. La statue et le tableau central du XIXe siècle représentent Saint-Jean-Baptiste.

Les statues des saints

Sainte Monique est la mère de saint Augustin. Veuve, elle se dévoue à son fils et fait son possible pour le détourner de la mauvaise voie, qu’il semble tant apprécier. Ses efforts seront récompensés. Sa vie nous est connue principalement grâce aux Confessions de saint Augustin. La présence de ses deux statues rappellent que l’église a été occupée par les chanoines réguliers de Saint-Augustin pendant six siècles.

Les deux dernières statues représentent saint Méen et saint Judicaël. Méen est un moine breton du Pays de Galles. Il se rend dans le royaume de Domnonée au VIe siècle, qui était alors gouverné par Saint Judicaël. Saint Judicaël construit à Paimpont l’abbaye de Paimpont tandis que saint Méen est à l’origine de la fondation de l’abbaye de Saint-Méen.

La chapelle du Saint-Sacrement et le trésor de l'abbaye

Une petite porte située dans le bras gauche du transept permet d’accéder à la chapelle du Saint-Sacrement. Construite au XVIIe siècle, c’est un lieu dédié au recueillement et à la prière. Une fois dans la sacristie, vous pourrez admirer les pièces principales du trésor de l’abbaye : un Christ en ivoire du XVIIe siècle, une statue du XVe siècle et un reliquaire du XVe siècle dans lequel se trouverait un radius de saint Judicaël lui-même….

En photos

Etang et abbaye de Paimpont - Ille et Vilaine - Crédit : Emmanuel Berthier France, Ille-et-Vilaine (35), Paimpont, l'abbaye Rendez vous avec la lune - l'abbaye de Paimpont L'etang et abbaye de Paimpont a l'aube - Crédit Emmanuel Berthier Etang de l'abbaye de Paimpont

À Faire aux alentours