The Forges of Paimpont

Marque Bretagne

An exceptional metalworking site

The Forges of Paimpont are a wonderful sight when you arrive from the narrow strip of land that serves as a pier to the lake that used to supply them with water. Nowadays, the historical and industrial site of the forges of Paimpont includes:

  • Two blast furnaces
  • The foreman’s house
  • The canteen
  • The retention basin
  • The chapel
  • Workers’ cottages
  • The workshops
  • A unique 600 m² rolling mill

Near the old workers’ canteen, the Oak of Anatole Le Braz overlooks the site.

A private site, beautifully restored!

The forges’ foundry is on the list of 250 French sites entrusted to Stéphane Berns mission

Awarded the Grand prix Vieilles Maisons Françaises 2017

Barely saved from disrepair, the site owes a lot to the energy of its owners: Patrick and Agnès de la Paumélière.

In 2005, when everything was about to fall apart, they started major renovation works that lasted eight years. The beautiful rolling mill was restored and the place revealed its treasures: the workers’ cottages, the foremans house, the two beautifully preserved blast furnaces… The restoration works were extensive but a lot remains to do… Long forgotten, the site is slowly regaining all of its beauty!

The most recent restoration works took place upstream from the Forges in 2017/2018, with the restoration of the dam that supplies water to the Forges, the hydraulic force vital to the site.

A key site in the history of Brocéliande

Two different generations of blast furnaces: a unique feature in France!

In 1656, when the Forges set up in the heart of the Paimpont / Brocéliande forest, three sources of wealth were available: a substantial iron ore deposit, an extensive hydraulic network and, for a while, plenty of charcoal made from the wood of the forest.

The Forges began their activity with a blast furnace and a refinery, selected by Diderot and dAlembert to illustrate their Encyclopédie. The Forges were a success! At the time, 500 tons of cast iron and 360 tons of iron were produced. Some orders even related to the American war of independence…

During the first half of the nineteenth century, the Forges were modernised. Two blast furnaces were built, one fired by charcoal and the other one by coke. A rolling mill together with a coke-fired foundry (à langlaise) completed the extension of the site. At the height of the iron and cast iron production, 250 people were working for the Forges.

Defeated by foreign competition, these two blast furnaces were permanently closed in 1884 but the foundry operations continued until 1954.

In 2001, the Forges were referenced on the additional list of national Historic Monuments and thus benefit from conservation measures and a restoration programme. 

A few pictures

Forges of Paimpont Forges of Paimpont Forges of Paimpont - the rolling mill Guided tour at the Forges of Paimpont Forges de Paimpont - the rolling mill Forges of Paimpont

Also nearby

Our favourites

Les forges de Paimpont

Marque Bretagne

Un SITE Métallurgique exceptionnel

Les forges de Paimpont offre un coup d’œil exceptionnel lorsque l’on arrive sur l’étroite langue de terre servant de chaussée à l’étang qui les alimente. Aujourd’hui, le site historique et industriel des forges de Paimpont comprend :

  • Deux hauts fourneaux
  • La maison du contremaître
  • La cantine
  • Le bassin de rétention
  • La chapelle
  • Les maisons ouvrières
  • Les ateliers
  • Un laminoir exceptionnel de 600 m²

À proximité de l’ancienne cantine des ouvriers, le chêne d’Anatole Le Braz surplombe le site.

Un site privé, objet d’une restauration exceptionnelle !

La fonderie des forges fait partie des 250 sites référencés en France confiés à la mission Stéphane Bern.

Grand prix Vieille Maison Française 2017

Ce site sauvé de justesse doit beaucoup à l’énergie de leurs propriétaires : Patrick et Agnès de la Paumélière.

En 2005, ils entreprennent des travaux de très grande envergure « avant que tout ne s’écroule ». Le chantier dure 8 ans. Le magnifique laminoir est relevé et le lieu révèle ses richesses : les logements des ouvriers, la demeure du contremaître, les deux hauts-fourneaux magnifiquement préservés… Le chantier de restauration est énorme mais il reste encore beaucoup à faire… Longtemps oublié, le site retrouve petit à petit toute sa beauté !

Les dernières grosses restaurations se sont tenues en amont des Forges en 2017/2018. Il s’agit de la restauration de la digue qui assure l’arrivée en eau, force hydraulique vitale du site.

Un site clé de l’histoire de Brocéliande

Des faut fourneaux de deux générations différentes : une caractéristique unique en France!

Quand, en 1656, les Forges s’installent au cœur de la forêt de Paimpont / Brocéliande, elles ont à leur disposition trois richesses : un bon minerai de fer, un réseau hydraulique important et, pour un temps, du charbon à profusion grâce au bois de la forêt.

Les Forges commencent leur activité avec un haut fourneau et une affinerie, qui sera choisie par Diderot et d’Alembert pour illustrer l’Encyclopédie. Les Forges sont un succès ! La production est, alors, de 500 tonnes de fonte et 360 tonnes de fer. Elles assurent même les commandes liées à la guerre d’indépendance des États-Unis d’Amérique…

Dans la première moitié du 19e siècle, les Forges se modernisent ! Deux hauts fourneaux sont construits, un au charbon de bois et un au coke. Un laminoir ainsi qu’une fonderie au coke (forges à l’anglaise) finissent d’agrandir le site. À l’apogée de la production de fer et de fonte, 250 personnes travaillent pour les Forges.

Face à la concurrence étrangère, ces deux hauts fourneaux s’arrêteront définitivement en 1884 mais l’activité de fonderie perdure jusqu’en 1954.

En 2001, les Forges sont inscrites sur la liste supplémentaire des Monuments Historiques et bénéficient ainsi d’une protection et d’un programme de restauration.

En photos

Forges de Paimpont Forges de Paimpont Forges de Paimpont - laminoir Visite aux Forges de Paimpont Forges de Paimpont - laminoir Forges de Paimpont

À Faire aux alentours