The Monks’ Garden

jardin aux Moines Brocéliande
Marque Bretagne

A MYSTERIOUS MEGALITHIC MONUMENT

If you expected an enclosed garden with medicinal and aromatic plants cultivated by clergymen, you’re in for a surprise!

This archaeological site of worship takes its name from the legend of the “doomed stones of Tréhorenteuc”. You might hear the tale if you run into Jacky Ealet on the forest paths during one of his storytellers’ tours through Brocéliande.

For many years forgotten, buried in gorse, the monument was rediscovered by members of the association Les Amis du Moulin du Châtenay. Excavations carried out in 1983 and 1984 by archaeologist Jacques Briard and his teams, led to the full uncovering of the site.

The Monks Garden - Broceliande

The Monks’ Garden – Broceliande

With its trapezoidal shape, the Monks’ Garden is 27 metres long on the North side and 23 metres long on the South side. The North-East part of the monument is made of very large blocks of quartz and puddingstone. These stones were extracted 2 kilometres away from the site, in the valley of Tréhorenteuc. The presence of white stones is most likely a form of ritual (as the old saying goes, “to mark with a white stone” …). There are two transversal partitions, perhaps due to successive enlargements.

Vases from the Neolithic era found outside of the tumulus confirmed that the monument was used as early as 2500 BC. The Monks’ Garden is linked to other monuments visible in Carnac (56), Saint-Just (35) or Quillio (22).

(Source: “La préhistoire en Brocéliande” by Jacques Briard)

ACCESS

  • The site is open year-round.
  • Location: Tréhorenteuc

Accessibility

  • The site is accessible to persons with reduced mobility.
  • Baby carriers can be rented from the Tourist Office (7€ for a day or half-day). Bookings can be made through the Tourist Office.

Click here to download the map of legendary sites and trails

Le jardin aux Moines

jardin aux Moines Brocéliande
Marque Bretagne

Un monument mégalithique dont la fonction reste encore obscure

Vous pensiez trouver un jardin clos composé de plantes médicinales et aromatiques, jadis cultivé par des religieux ? Que nenni !

Il s’agit d’un site archéologique cultuel dont le nom provient d’une légende :« Les pierres maudites de Tréhorenteuc ». Ce conte raconté par Jacky Ealet, vous pourrez peut-être l’entendre au détour des sentiers de la forêt, lors d’une balade contée en Brocéliande.

Tombé dans l’oubli pendant des années, enfoui sous les ajoncs, le monument fut retrouvé par des membres de l’association Les Amis du Moulin du Châtenay. Des fouilles entreprises entre 1983 et 1984 par l’archéologue Jacques Briard et ses équipes, permirent de dégager complètement le site.

jardin aux Moines Brocéliande

De forme trapézoïdale, le jardin aux Moines mesure 27 mètres de long du côté nord et 23 mètres du côté sud. La partie nord-est du monument est composée d’énormes blocs de quartz et de poudingue. Ces pierres ont été extraites à deux kilomètres du lieu, dans le vallon de Tréhorenteuc. La présence de pierres blanches est sans aucun doute volontaire et rituelle (« marquer d’une pierre blanche »…). Ce site présente deux séparations transversales, peut-être dues à des agrandissements successifs.

Des vases de l’époque néolithique retrouvés à l’extérieur du tertre attestent de l’utilisation du monument dès -2500 avant Jésus-Christ. Le jardin aux Moines se rattache aux monuments bretons visibles à Carnac (56), Saint-Just (35) ou encore le Quillio (22).

(Source : « La préhistoire en Brocéliande » de Jacques Briard)

ACCES

Le site est ouvert toute l’année.

Localisation : Tréhorenteuc

Télécharger la carte des sites et sentiers légendaires